Friday, September 17, 2021

New Blaine L. Reininger Album "Wounds and Blessings" Now Available for Pre-order


Artist:              BLAINE L. REININGER

Title:                WOUNDS AND BLESSINGS

Format :          2xCD + DL

Cat No:            TWI 1255 CD (28 tracks)

Label:              Les Disques du Crepuscule

Released:         11 November 2021

Barcode:          708 527 210 253

PDP:                 £7.50


Wounds and Blessings is a brand new studio double album by Blaine L. Reininger, the Colorado-born composer and founder member of avant-garde music group Tuxedomoon.


Wounds and Blessings is a collection of 28 new tracks organised into 4 distinct suites. While all the music is performed and produced by Reininger, featured guests include his Tuxedomoon colleagues Steven Brown and Luc van Lieshout, as well as former Indoor Life member Bob Hoffnar and Reininger’s Greek guitarist, Tilemachos Moussas.


On this expansive double set Reininger employs all the tools in his current arsenal, from AI-assisted lyrics to sampler bricolage, to violin and guitar virtuosity, a vast array of computer plug-ins and effects, and a trompe l’oeil assortment of 20th century avant-garde compositional methods.


"When I’m working," explains Blaine, “and a piece begins to reveal itself to me, I always follow where it leads. It becomes clear that it requires a violin, or a guitar, or lyrics. Whether it should be harsh or serene, orchestral, or entirely electronic. So it is with this new collection. Also, in the vocal songs, the subject of mortality has surfaced time and time again, albeit in a lucid manner and without becoming morbid, or fearful. I’m pleased with the results, and grateful to have the means to write every day and present my music to you.’


The album is produced by Reininger, with mixing and mastering by long-time collaborator Coti K. Cover portrait and booklet photography by George Geranios.


CD tracklist:


Disc 1:


1. 100 Sad Fingers

2. I Inhabit the Dunes

3. Je Retournerai

4. Magnetic Flux

5. Chemise Grise

6. Trials and Tribulations

7. I Am An Old Poem

8. Goby Life

9. The Days Gone By

10. Roll Off the Edge

11. Duello

12. Silver Pants

13. Occult Simplicities

14. Pleyel Harvest


Disc 2


1. One of Those Things

2. Begin Your Day, Winny

3. You’re Lucky

4. Slipstream

5. Newbs Descending a Staircase

6. Lockdown Blues

7. Indra’s Dream

8. Die Ferne Klang

9. Sun Package

10. Unbirthday

11. Quarter Teen

12. Cahiers Noirs

13. Harvest Moon

14. Push


For further information email


No comments:

Post a Comment